Sonic 3 Angel Island revisited

I have seen Sonic 3 Air or Angel Island revisited. It was something I had seen around before, either by some youtubers or by my friend, Drax, who has played Sonic 3 Air. From what I have seen, it is Sonic 3 complete, but far bigger in scope. You can download mods, and change how Sonic 3 Air looks, sounds, and I guess in some cases. Change how it plays I believe.

As Someone who has played Sonic 3 and Sonic the Hedgehog 3 and Knuckles to Death, and played Sonic 3 Complete or Sonic 3 C. I felt there was no need for me to well, play Sonic 3 Air. And when I did want to try it out, this was when Sega started to delist the classic games from the Steam store.

From what I understood, Sonic 3 air before Sonic Origins came out. Sonic 3 Air used the Sonic 3 & Knuckles rom to get all of its info and data. Everything was there but the rom acted more like a key to a car, and without the key you would have a dead car that is of no use to you.

At least, that’s my understanding of how it works since I never used Sonic 3 Air, and the closest I would say I came to using Sonic 3 Air was Sonic 3 Complete but it did its job well enough in 2016 when I played it. If you wanted to play Sonic 3 in its complete form along with cut content and new features. Sonic 3 Air had your back in 2013.

Although, it seems that what Sonic 3 Complete did before that Sonic 3 Air improved in terms of features, patches, changes, new additions, and a modding scene. I don’t know how big the mod scene is but it become a big one once people start learning to mod this game.

But now that Sonic Origins is out. I am unsure how they will handle the jump from rom to using an exe. Because this is a game rebuilt from scratch and I’m talking about Sonic 3 in this case. Because this is a whole game. And it does suck that when people have to make the jump from using the Steam rom to buying Sonic Origins to use Sonic 3 Air. Unless they plan on having both options if the player can’t get the Sonic 3 & Knuckles rom, legally. I’m sure they got a way to please both sides.

Why am I talking about Sonic 3 Angel Island revisited?

I had the itch to play Sonic 3 Angel Island revisited, since when I was looking at my list of blog posts to make I saw this and I wanted to talk about it, and I heard that there is an update that is out or rather coming soon due to Sonic Origins.

And given I was remaking Mecha Sonic in Clickteam Fusion 2.5+, this also had a hand in me wanting to play Sonic 3 again, and Sonic 3 C is a good way to play Sonic 3 as the intended way but with the new and modern way being Sonic 3 air, why not.

Mecha Sonic fight

I would of course have to learn how to set things and make sure things are stable. I would get some mods to make my 50th run-through of Sonic 3 different, and this could be a fun stream game if I were to stream this. I Have to put this on my back burner but I am looking forward to playing Sonic 3 air from start to finish.

I hope the experience will be good, but it seems like the team who is working on this has a good head on their shoulders. So I guess there is not much worry in that department, I would hope so anyway. Would be bad if the experience was awful but for most of it, a Sonic fan game experience is normally good. There are a few odd instances where the experience is bad but those are few and far, I would hope anyway.

Leave a reply and let me know what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

My Games and apps downloads
stream countdown clock
Sonic Prototype v1.2365
Snake Clone
new years mini game

Blog Stats

  • 27,642 hits

Join 286 other subscribers
Follow Ony's chaos realm on WordPress.com